African-American Secret Service Agent on JFK Assassination


Book Review by Gary Revel

Secret Service agent-Abraham Bolden, the first African-American agent to be assigned to protect a President of the United States found protocol violations in the Secret Service protection of JFK in Dallas on November 22, 1963.  He had worked in presidential protection teams himself and had helped discover an assassination plot in Chicago only weeks before that dismal day in Dallas.

He learned that someone on the Grassy Knoll had flashed a Secret Service ID card  a short time before JFK’s brain exploded from a bullet fired from the area.  All Secret Service agents received new ID cards shortly afterward.  Interestingly enough no agent had any reason to be on the grassy knoll before that shot and officially no agent was there. 

The name of Lee Harvey Oswald had come up when he helped prevent the assassination attempt in Chicago.  This fact and the protocol problems in Dallas put together bothered Abraham and he started asking questions.  Then others started asking him questions and soon he had been framed and sent to prison. 

Abraham is no longer in prison and he has written a book about his experiences.  The title is “The Echo from Dealey Plaza” and it is the true story of the first African American on the White House Secret Service detail and his quest for justice after the assassination of JFK.

You can find it by CLICKING HERE

***

2 thoughts on “African-American Secret Service Agent on JFK Assassination

  1. I can believe the “framed” part. I worked for the U.S. Postal Inspection Service; they considered themselves 1 step above the FBI – they had a better conviction rate.

    I made the mistake of not taking an Inspector at his word that all 13 copies of the book were in the furnace except for this one and this’ll be there when we’re done with lunch”. The book was written by someone he’d convicted. He was still in prison.

    The reason for his response was I’d asked for the name of the book we’d all been listening to. It was incredibly funny. I’d already been to lunch and couldn’t take them up on the invitation to join them.

    I said “come on, we’re not in Nazi Germany; what’s the name of the book; it’s great; I’ll buy it.” That was the end of my career with the USPI serivce. The accusation ended it. I was told to take the “other” promotion I’d been offered, that staying an investigative aide would lead to nowhere.

    At least I didn’t threaten to expose him; that probably would’ve gotten me inside.

    I’ll write this story next on my blog.

    Like

Comments are closed.